TDMUSIC · progress briefing
← Back to briefing
DISCOVER · COMPETITOR TEARDOWN

10 products, torn down and claims-audited

Everything a listener could buy today that sits near "adaptive music for calm" — pricing, content model, wearable integration and the exact wording each product uses to claim it works — so the white space (and the legal risk of copying someone else's language) is visible before we build.

Source: company/competitors-teardown.md — 10 products, live-fetched via WebSearch/WebFetch, compiled 2026-07-09. Every fact below carries a source in the underlying file; unverifiable items are marked "unknown," not guessed.

/ 01Strategic read

Three things this teardown settles

The white space is real

No product in the set combines all four: real licensed music, live biometric adaptation (HRV/HR), a measured post-session result, and artist branding. Calm gets closest — real music plus artist branding — but shows no live biometric read and no measured result. Endel and LUCID/VIBE read live heart-rate but aren't built on a real-music catalogue. Nobody occupies all four cells at once.

"Connects to a watch" is not a moat

Wearable adaptation is already common outside the obvious players. Headspace reads Apple Watch HRV and is built into 15 tracks inside the Oura app; 潮汐 Tide has a dedicated Apple Watch mode with real-time HRV. At least five of the ten products already touch a wearable — a watch connection is table stakes, not a differentiator.

The claims audit's one real finding

Only MedRhythms holds a genuine, named FDA action — a Breakthrough Device Designation for its chronic-stroke digital therapeutic (June 2020), plus FDA Class II listings for InTandem and MOVIVE. LUCID's site now states Resonance Rx is "FDA-authorized" in the present tense, but a 2022 company blog described the same technology in the future tense ("developing an FDA approved digital therapeutic") — and no clearance/authorization number appears anywhere on their site. That's claims drift, not a clerical gap.

/ 02Feature-gap map

Who has what, across all ten

Scroll right on mobile — this table is wide by design; ✓ / ✗ / partial / unknown are exactly as the underlying research left them, cell by cell.

Feature Calm Headspace Endel Brain.fm MedRhythms 潮汐 Tide 小睡眠 LUCID/VIBE Innertune QQ音乐 音乐疗愈
Real licensed music (songs) unknown (likely ✗) partial artist-stem reworks, not on-demand catalog UMG catalog unknown partial ✓ Resonance Rx "7M tracks"; VIBE app generative-leaning this feature is AI-generated; broader QQ Music catalog is licensed
Generative / AI soundscape unknown patented patented tempo-modulates real songs unknown partial "深睡AI" recommendation/mixing, not confirmed synthesis VIBE unknown explicitly "AI驱动生成"
Adapts to live biometrics (HRV/HR) unknown/✗ Apple Watch HRV Apple Watch/Wear OS HR ✗/unknown gait/motion sensors, not HRV Apple Watch real-time HRV partial HRV/HR "wearable smart sensing" + camera-based Apple Watch HR "drives your experience" unknown unknown
Shows a measured result after each session unknown Reflect monthly check-in, stress scale scores unknown unknown partial trial-level gait/step metrics; per-session display unclear sleep report w/ HR/HRV sleep quality score, sleep-stage breakdown, snore analysis VIBE "analytics panel" post-session HR unknown unknown
Artist branding / named artists deadmau5, Moby, celebrity Sleep Stories James Blake, Grimes, Plastikman, Miguel partial UMG catalog implies real artists; no named branding on-site celebrity bedtime narration: 成毅, 赵露思, 李沁, 张新成 unknown
Wearable integration (any) Apple Watch/Wear OS; Oura/Fitbit unknown Apple Watch, Oura; Fitbit explicitly ✗ Apple Watch, Wear OS; Oura indirect only; Fitbit ✗ proprietary hardware only Apple Watch confirmed; others unknown Apple Watch confirmed; others unknown Apple Watch confirmed; others unknown unknown unknown
China availability unknown US-focused primary market primary market unknown unknown China-only; not on US store
/ 03Product-by-product audit

Positioning, pricing, and the exact claim wording

Open each card. The health/efficacy line is quoted verbatim — this is the legal-claims audit, so nothing here is paraphrased.

  • Positioning: App Store subtitle "Sleep, Meditation, Relaxation"; site title "Calm - The #1 App for Meditation and Sleep."
  • Pricing: Monthly ~$14.99–$16.99 (sources disagree); Annual $69.99/yr (promo renewal sometimes $79.99/yr); Family $99.99/yr (6 accounts); Lifetime $399.99 one-time (some resellers up to $499.99).
  • Content type: Mixed — guided meditations, narrated celebrity Sleep Stories (Matthew McConaughey, Stephen Fry, Rosé, P!nk), real-artist licensed music (deadmau5 "Flow & Focus," Moby "Long Ambients 2"), generative music, nature-sound soundscapes.
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — yes, "limited functionality" (daily content, mindful minutes; no login/sync). Wear OS — yes, limited. Oura — unknown. Fitbit — unknown.

"science-backed content and activities for daily mental health support," "recommended by top psychologists, therapists and mental health experts." Calm Health disclaimer: "Calm Health is a mental health wellness product. Calm Health is not intended to diagnose or treat depression, anxiety, or any other disease or condition."

App Store listing · health.calm.com clinical-studies page
  • Positioning: App Store subtitle "Relax, Stress & Anxiety Relief"; homepage headline "Stress less all with Headspace."
  • Pricing: Monthly (Plus) $12.99; Annual (Plus) $69.99 ("55% off," ~$5.83/mo); Family $99.99/yr (up to 6 members); Student ~$9.99/yr (85% discount); Organizations quote-only.
  • Content type: Mixed — guided meditations (mainly Andy Puddicombe and other teachers), Sleepcasts (narrated + music), focus music, nature soundscapes. No evidence found of licensed, named-artist songs.
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — yes, dedicated app; "signals like heart rate variability" find the right moment to pause. Oura — yes, 15 breathwork/meditation tracks integrated into the Oura app. Fitbit — explicitly no ("Fitbit doesn't currently have plans to release direct Headspace integration").

"Studies show: Headspace works." "The proof is in the research: Headspace can make a big impact on people's lives." Coaching draws on "clinically validated techniques like cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT)." A cited UCSF employer study reports "37% decrease in anxiety symptoms, and 32% decrease in depression symptoms." Dec 2025 release: "New Study Finds Headspace's Guided Program for Anxiety & Depression Helps People Feel Better in Just Three Weeks." Backed by "over 50 published papers."

headspace.com/science · UCSF employer study · Dec 2025 press release
  • Positioning: "Personalized soundscapes to help you focus, relax, and sleep. Backed by neuroscience."
  • Pricing: App Store shows multiple regional/promo SKUs: Monthly $2.99–$19.99, Annual $34.99–$119.99, Lifetime $124.99. A third-party review cites lower direct-checkout pricing (~$6.99/mo, ~$49.99/yr, ~$90 lifetime) — not independently confirmed.
  • Content type: Generative/algorithmic soundscapes, plus artist-branded generative reworkings built from artist stems — James Blake ("Wind Down," "Playing Robots Into Heaven"), earlier Grimes, Plastikman and Miguel collaborations. Not a licensed, on-demand song catalog.
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — yes, named Apple Watch App of the Year 2020. Wear OS — yes, for heart-rate input. Oura — no direct integration, only indirectly via an Oura→Apple Health bridge. Fitbit — no.

"Backed by neuroscience." "Get a boost of up to 7x increase in sustained Focus with our scientifically-validated soundscapes." "Sound has been shown to be an effective tool in managing symptoms of Attention Deficit & Hyperactivity Disorder (ADD/ADHD)."

endel.io · endel.io/science
  • Positioning: "Music made for Deep Work Creativity Learning Motivation"; "The only music app made with modes for different activities in your life."
  • Pricing: Official pricing page: Monthly $14.99, Annual $99.99, no lifetime option. App Store shows additional/older tiers ($9.99/$6.99 monthly, $69.99/$49.99 annual) — discrepancy vs. website not resolved.
  • Content type: Original, patented algorithmic/functional music (amplitude-modulated audio engineered for neural entrainment); not licensed existing songs, no named guest artists identified.
  • Wearable integration: None found — no Apple Watch, Oura, or Fitbit integration on official pages.

"Patented audio technology proven more effective for focus than binaural beats, Spotify, and YouTube focus playlists." "Brain.fm's focus music has been proven to boost focus-associated beta brainwaves by 119%." "A newly published peer-reviewed study in the Nature journal Communications Biology confirms that Brain.fm's patented technology can enhance attention."

brain.fm/science · company press release
  • Note: Not a consumer subscription app — a prescription-track neurologic-music-therapy medical device company. Several fields below don't apply to that model.
  • Positioning: "Next-generation neurotherapeutics to support walking"; "Leveraging the power of music and technology to redefine what's possible in brain health."
  • Pricing: No public consumer/cash price. Rx-only, distributed via insurance: CMS established a unique HCPCS code (E3200) classifying the device as durable medical equipment; distributed nationally via Edwards Health Care Services to patients with Medicare and/or commercial insurance.
  • Content type: Real licensed music selected/screened by a patented "audio engine," delivered as personalized rhythmic stimulus via proprietary clinical algorithms (Rhythmic Auditory Stimulation). Music-licensing partnership with Universal Music Group for "prescription music."
  • Platforms / wearable integration: Not a smartphone app — InTandem is dedicated hardware (shoe-worn sensors, headset, preloaded touchscreen device); "patients do not need any technical expertise or a personal smartphone." No Apple Watch/Oura/Fitbit — fully proprietary hardware.

"MedRhythms Receives FDA Breakthrough Device Designation for Chronic Stroke Digital Therapeutic" (June 15, 2020); "currently being studied in a randomized controlled trial (RCT)." InTandem: "In just 5 weeks, InTandem users improved walking speed by 22%." MOVIVE: "MOVIVE users took 28% more total steps from their personal baseline." Both InTandem (MR-001) and MOVIVE hold FDA Class II listings.

PR Newswire (FDA designation, InTandem listing) · medrhythms.com/products
  • Positioning: Site tagline "和大自然一起,平静身心" ("Find calm, together with nature"); China App Store subtitle "睡眠 | 正念 | HRV | 解压 | 专注 | 呼吸法" ("Sleep | Mindfulness | HRV | Stress relief | Focus | Breathing").
  • Pricing: China App Store: Plus weekly ¥9.90, monthly ¥18–20, annual ¥198; separate 声音卡 (Sound Card) monthly ¥8 (white-noise library only). US App Store: Monthly $11.99, Annual $59.99.
  • Content type: Nature white noise and in-house-produced ambient soundscapes ("声音艺术家匠心创作" — "crafted by our sound artists"), guided meditation courses, sleep stories, breathing exercises, sleep/snore monitoring. No evidence of licensed commercial songs.
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — yes, dedicated watch app with real-time HRV in a "meditation room" mode, HealthKit-connected. Huawei Watch / Mi Band / Oura / Fitbit — unknown, no source found either way.

No "临床验证" (clinically validated) or "神经科学" (neuroscience) claim located on official pages. Strongest science-adjacent language found: "采用最新的机器学习技术,结合自研算法校准睡眠数据" ("uses the latest machine-learning technology combined with proprietary algorithms to calibrate sleep data"). Homepage otherwise uses only experiential language ("helps you fall asleep quickly," "brings calm") — no medical/clinical claims.

tide.fm · China App Store listing (id1077776989)
  • Positioning: China App Store tagline "8000万失眠星人口碑之选" ("The word-of-mouth choice of 80 million people with insomnia").
  • Pricing: China: auto-renew monthly ¥24; non-renewing monthly ¥30, 3-month ¥88, 6-month ¥158, annual ¥198/¥268 (varies by fetch); 睡眠币 (sleep coins) ¥1–¥138 à la carte. US: monthly $2.99–$3.49, annual $29.99.
  • Content type: Mixed — white noise (1,400+ tracks, 22 categories), ASMR, guided meditation/mindfulness, hypnosis music, celebrity-voiced bedtime narration (成毅, 赵露思, 李沁, 张新成), sleep/snore/talk monitoring, plus a CBT-I digital-therapy module.
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — yes, dedicated app, HealthKit sync, heart-rate measurement, stress self-testing, breathing exercises. Described generically as "支持穿戴智测" ("supports wearable smart sensing") without naming Huawei Watch/Mi Band/Oura/Fitbit specifically — those integrations are unconfirmed.

"CBTI数字疗法,智能算法定制作息" ("CBT-I digital therapy, smart algorithm customizes your sleep schedule"); "业内领先自研算法,专业判断睡眠阶段" ("industry-leading proprietary algorithm, professionally determines sleep stage"); "国内已通过网信算备的睡眠算法" ("sleep algorithm that has passed China's Cyberspace Administration algorithm-filing registration"). Company site separately: "源于最前沿PPG技术,颠覆MIT算法,极速发现心率、呼吸与HRV等核心参数,超过96%的监测准确率" ("cutting-edge PPG technology, built on an MIT algorithm, over 96% monitoring accuracy") and "科学的、有效的、便宜的减压产品" ("a scientific, effective, affordable stress-reduction product"). No peer-reviewed trial or regulatory approval cited on the homepage.

China App Store listing (id1194338569) · psy-1.com
  • Positioning: "Music, engineered for the human experience"; "LUCID builds patented AI technology that transforms music into a measurable tool for focus, recovery, sleep, and clinical outcomes."
  • Pricing: Not publicly listed for the VIBE consumer app (Apple listing pages returned repeated HTTP 404/429 on direct fetch). Resonance Rx has no public consumer price — deployed through healthcare providers/payers, described as "FDA authorized Medicare reimbursable."
  • Content type: Dual model. VIBE (consumer): generative audio — "the algorithm generates new soundtracks for wellness" — plus binaural audio and recorded 3D nature ambience. Resonance Rx (clinical): therapeutic audio patterns under AI-selected songs from a stated "vast music catalog of over 7 million tracks."
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — yes, "Connect your Apple Watch to allow your heart rate to drive your experience," integrates with Apple HealthKit, logs sessions as a "Mind & Body workout." Oura/Fitbit — unknown.

Flagged for the claims audit. "16% anxiety reduction in published RCT" — underlying press release: "the group that listened to VIBE with integrated ABS showed a 16% mean reduction in somatic anxiety compared to a 5% mean reduction in the pink noise control group (p=0.03)," 264 adults enrolled. "Clinically proven calm in 24 minutes." "Resonance Rx is FDA-authorized and research validated." / "FDA authorized Medicare reimbursable." A separate USC Brain and Music Lab trial reports "statistically significant reductions in agitation" (dementia population). Claims-drift note: an Aug 2022 company blog post described FDA status in the future tense — "We're currently translating these clinical insights into the development of an FDA approved digital therapeutic to reduce agitation and anxiety in dementia care" — while the current site states "FDA-authorized" in the present tense. The specific FDA regulatory pathway/clearance number is not disclosed on any page found.

lucidtherapeutics.com/for-health · PR Newswire (2022) · company blog (Aug 2022)
  • Positioning: App Store tagline "Affirmations for Focus & Calm"; founder describes it (via a Kunso case study) as "an affirmations listening app designed to help people build better mental habits."
  • Pricing: Listen Monthly $6.99, Yearly $29.99; Creator Monthly $14.99, Yearly $89.99; Studio Monthly $24.99, Yearly $189.99.
  • Content type: Original affirmation-based audio tracks — "songs" built from spoken affirmations layered over tonal frequencies and rhythm; not licensed commercial music, not an Endel-style real-time generative engine.
  • Wearable integration: Apple Watch — not confirmed either way, no mention found. Oura/Fitbit — unknown.

"Because the right song, at the right frequency, changes everything." "Innertune works where willpower fails, by using music itself as the intervention." "Every song is built from affirmations, frequencies, and rhythms designed to shift your nervous system from stressed to steady." "Music tuned to align with nature's harmony, believed to promote deep relaxation and grounding." "Healing tones from 174 Hz to 852 Hz, used for centuries to support emotional and mental balance."

App Store listing (id6754109892)
  • Note: Not a standalone app — an AI-generated "music healing" feature embedded inside the QQ音乐 (QQ Music) app, owned by Tencent Music Entertainment Group.
  • Positioning: "以疗愈音频帮助用户寻回心灵上的平静" ("helping users regain inner peace through healing audio").
  • Pricing: Launched via a "开放限时免费使用活动" (limited-time free-access promotion) inside QQ Music v13.1, set to eventually "丰富QQ音乐超级会员的增值服务体系" ("enrich the QQ Music Super VIP value-added service system") — implying future VIP-tied monetization, not yet a standalone price. Separately, the main app's 豪华绿钻 VIP list price was raised from ¥20/month to ¥25/month per an official notice (implementation date not specified; purchase page still showed ¥20 at time of reporting).
  • Content type: AI-generated procedural/generative soundscape. "结合了声景科学及独家空间音频技术,可通过AI形式生成无限变化的疗愈音频,并打造全方位空间环绕效果" ("combines soundscape science and proprietary spatial audio technology to generate infinitely varying healing audio via AI, with full spatial surround effect"); "完全由AI驱动生成,通过大量旋律输入训练" ("entirely AI-generated, trained on large volumes of melodic input"). Covers 睡眠/专注/冥想 (sleep/focus/meditation) modes with 星空/海洋/森林 (starry sky/ocean/forest) sub-scenes, letting users layer instruments like 木鱼/古琴 (wooden fish/guqin). Not a licensed on-demand song catalog for this feature specifically.
  • Wearable integration: Unknown — no source found for the healing feature specifically.

Audio technology director Dr. Yan Zhenhai (颜振海), quoted via China Daily, describes the system as selecting "sound frequencies that produce positive effects on the brain, helping users relax and soothe emotions" (translated from Chinese). QQ Music also released a 40Hz gamma-audio album for Alzheimer's patients, "《听见·记忆的回响》," citing MIT neuroscientist Li-Huei Tsai's published research on gamma-frequency stimulation.

China Daily (chinadaily.com.cn) · oeeee.com report
/ 04What's still unverified

Gaps

Several items resisted direct verification and are left as "unknown" rather than filled in: Calm's exact current monthly price (sources conflict $14.99 vs. $16.99) and its Oura/Fitbit status; Endel's direct-website pricing (payment.endel.io would not render); Brain.fm's total funding and whether a post-session score is shown; MedRhythms' non-US market presence; 潮汐 Tide's exact free-trial length and non-Apple wearable support; 小睡眠's post-2017 funding and whether "深睡AI" is true generative synthesis or recommendation/mixing; LUCID/VIBE's consumer pricing, Android availability, China availability, and — most importantly for the claims audit — the specific FDA regulatory pathway or clearance number behind "FDA-authorized" (never disclosed on any page found); Innertune's trial design and wearable integration; and QQ音乐 音乐疗愈's China App Store rating (fetch blocked, HTTP 429) and whether the feature has moved from free promo to paywalled. None of these are estimated or inferred — they stay "unknown" until a working source turns up.